Nothing can build your business like downtimes!

“He who stops advertising to try to save money, could just as easily stop his clock to try to save time.” – Anonymous

This is such an important topic to me, advertising in down times, that I plan on addressing it many times, in many ways over the next three or four posts.

Many businesses have asked me what they should do? How much they should cut back? What should the message or offer be? On and on they seem confused about how to handle advertising in such difficult economic times.

I will keep my answer short: don’t stop, even increase your advertising.

According to Ad-ology Research nearly half of U.S. adults believe that a lack of advertising during a recession means that a business is probably experiencing difficulties and struggling. Needless to say this obviously does not inspire confidence in your products or services.

